Personal injury throughout all of Rhode Island and Massachusetts
If you or a loved one has been injured in a car accident or you slip and fell because your landlord did not clear the black ice, it is your legal right to have the insurance companies pay for your medical bills, the damages to your car and your pain and suffering.
- Automobile Accidents
- Motorcycle Accidents
- Slip and Fall Accidents
- Child Accidents
- Pedestrian Accidents
- Dog Bite Injuries
- Hit-And-Run Accidents
- Maritime Accidents
- Workers Compensation
- Social Security Claims
Automobile AccidentsYou need the experienced legal attention and aggressive representation that our Offices provides
Motorcycle AccidentsOur experienced personal injury attorneys understand the complex aspects of motorcycle accident cases
Slip and Fall AccidentsWe have extensive experience in documenting and proving negligence of concerning maintenance and repairs
Below, please find some of the most frequently asked questions:
Do I have to pay my attorney upfront? How much will this cost me?
For all personal injury cases with our office, an upfront fee is not required. Furthermore, if your case is not resolved we do not request reimbursement of expenses. Is strictly a no out-of-pocket arrangement with our clients.
I don’t have health insurance and I don’t have enough money to pay my medical bills related to my accident. What am I going to do?
Medical bills including lost wages, property damage and pain and suffering are covered by the settlement with the insurance company and you will not have any bills left over relating to your claim after your settlement case resolution.
How long do I have to file a claim?
It depends upon the claim but in most cases three years from the day of the accident. Please call our office and we will tell you exactly statute of limitations in your particular case.
How much is my case worth?
There is no way of telling how much a case is worth at the outset. Generally, you must reach maximum medical improvement before we can approach the insurance company for settlement purposes. Because of our 30 years of experience we ensure that the cases put in a posture for maximum settlement amount prior to us confronting the insurance carrier.
Can I pursue compensation if I was partially at fault for my injuries?
Yes. In most cases you’re compensated for the degree of the responsible party’s negligence. Also, if you have a pre-existing injury you are still compensated under law if there is an exacerbation of a previous injury or condition.
How long does it take for a case to settle?
Most cases do settle prior to our need to have to put the matter in suit. Generally one year is a good barometer but it could be sooner depending upon the length of treatment that you receive for your injuries.
I was not able to work because of my injuries; will I get compensated for that too?
Yes. In Rhode Island, even if you were paid lost wages for the time you are out from the accident from your employer, it is still compensated in addition to your medical bills and pain-and-suffering.
What happens if the insurance company does not want to pay what my case is really worth?
We have 30 years experience trying cases in court. In the unlikely event that your case cannot settle with the insurance company, we include this in your suit at no additional cost to you. In most cases those items placed in suit do settle before trial. Our office is always prepared to go to trial if the insurance company is being unreasonable.
What happens if the insurance company contacts me directly by calling me or sending me letter? Should I answer their questions?
No, always refer them to the attorney and do not speak to them directly.